Managing users

What is a user?

user is someone who has access to the platform via an admin UI. Not all users are the same: depending on their tasks, you can limit and expand their access to the admin UI by giving them different roles. Please make sure you configure a role before you create a user.

Getting started

If you haven’t already done so, login to your admin UI. Go to the administration section of the administration section in the main navigationclick on ‘user’ and proceed to click on ‘manage users’. If you do so, the page on which you can create, manage and delete roles will be loaded.

How do I create a new user?

Defining user properties

Click on the button ‘create new user’ in the top right corner. If you do so, a panel will appear in which you have to do the following:

  1. Give the user a username, i.e. the name the user will use to login to the admin UI.

  2. Register the user’s first name and last name.

  3. Register the email address of the user. The email will be used for the double opt-in discussed below and in some cases communication via newsletter.

  4. Confirm the person for whom you are creating the user consented to storage and usage to data according to the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), chapter 2, article 7.

  5. Select the language in which the admin UI for the user will be displayed. Please note a user can change the language after the initial login.

  6. Select the display currency in which all figures in the admin UI are displayed. Please note a user can change the language after the initial login.

  7. Choose the user’s role. Please note the role defines to what sections and features the user will have access.

  8. Choose the user type. Following types are available:

    • The platform type is used for your employees and co-workers. Users with this type receive the product newsletter and can use the additional services. This user type can be set as key account manager for entities as a whole (default setting) or specific partners. For further information please read this article on contact data display of users.

    • The advertiser type is used for users managing external advertiser programs. Users with this type do not receive a product newsletter and cannot book additional services.

    • The platform consultant type is used for users belonging to employees of companies that provide services to your company. Users with this type do not receive a product newsletter and cannot book additional services.

  9. Finally, you need to give the new user a password. Please note that this is an initial password only. New users will have to change the password when they login for the first time and the new password cannot be identical with the initial password. When entering a new password, you will be informed about the password requirements of the platform.

When you are ready, don’t forget to hit the save button in the right lower corner of the page.

Double opt-in

As soon as you hit the save button on the page where you define the user properties, an email will be send to the email address you registered. This email contains a link via which the user can confirm the email address. As soon as the email address has been confirmed, the user will be able to login and use the admin UI. Please note the link is only valid for 72 hours. If the person for whom the user is intended does not confirm the email address during these 72 hours, the user will be terminate.

How do I edit a new user?

Please note that you can only edit the role and the type of the user. Other properties of the user cannot be changed, because it involves personal data. To change the role and the type of the user, make sure you are on the page on which users can be created. Find the user you want to edit and click on the  icon. If you do so a panel will open up containing all the properties of the user. In this panel, you can change the user’s role and type.

How do I terminate a user?

Again, make sure you are on the page on which users can be created. Find the user you want to terminate and click on the  icon. If you do so, you will be asked to confirm your action in a system window, which also provides you with the consequences of user termination. If you confirm, the user will be terminated.

Please note terminating users involves the following:

  • Users will no longer be able to login.

  • Personal data related to the user will be terminated, with the exception of the first and last name. This is done for reasons of security: a user’s actions must remain identifiable, even if the user is no longer working with the platform.

  • User’s magic keys will be terminated, which means that any automated exports of data from the platform are disabled.

  • Terminated users will receive an email to inform them they can no longer use the platform.

Please note a terminated user cannot be restored from the admin UI.